Queer or not too Queer?

Whilst I’m in the mood…Two updates in two days?  Well, well, well, aren’t I suddenly keen?

Tomorrow I’m going to Sunderland to see about helping set up a LGBTQ radio session. I always feel quite weird about doing anything LGBT as I identify as Q, queer, and I worry that I taint it with my privilege. So I thought I’d try and align my thoughts by writing about it.

Queer is a disruptive identity, as queer I tend to reject participating in the “norm”, in fact I’m actually not so sure there is even is a “norm”. Heteronormativity is what it sounds like, the idea that being a heterosexual is the only normal, and as such this is the way our society is structured. It’s interlaced with the idea that there are only two genders too. I don’t believe there are, I think gender is a construct and as such it can be deconstructed and remodelled. I also think that the idea of heterosexuality is a quite repressive norm. From sexual desire to the makeup of a family I don’t think it should centre around one man and one woman.

Personally, I don’t really feel that gender is a big deal when picking a partner. However I happen to be in a relationship with a man, we’re both cis gender, both white, both from a similar geography, the only differences are possibly our class backgrounds and his heterosexuality. So currently I’m living the heteronormative dream.  Do I even have the right to chip in on an LGBTQ radio show?

When I was invited to take part I didn’t necessarily think I was a good choice. I’ll be part of a team that seems to be quite white and yeah, I get it’s radio and people won’t see our faces, but I race representation is really important and I know our experiences are going to be vastly different.  Alas, being from the North East of England my circle is pretty white and I think people are worried about actively seeking a non-white presenter and being accused of tokenism.

In the past people have asked me if I was a man or a woman, and ever since I have had all of my hair cut off I’ve suddenly become more attractive to women. Also, one of my friends kids can’t work out if I’m a girl like her mummy or a boy like her daddy. I think the outward presentation of my identity is queerer than ever but the way I practice my life is increasingly heteronormative, we talk about getting a house together, getting married, and being monogamous almost goes without saying.

I guess this blog post is more about wondering if I can only claim a queer identity, and if the ability to make that claim is based on my privilege. If I was non-white, working class, trans or ascribed any other social division that is less privileged than my own claiming to be queer could be more risky, more disruptive… more queer?

Every time I consider something like this I worry about the language I use, if I’ve been clumsy or offensive to someone, and if I have upset anyone, particularly from the community, I didn’t mean to. This is just the rambling musings of someone exploring an identity they claim but feel alienated from.

As I like to close with some music, here’s one of my favourite songs ATM, check out the lives vrs dislikes if you need an example of hetero, caucasian, and masculine fragility.

Leave a Reply

