Small Victories and Mushroom Soup

Today was a good day. My boyfriend had a job interview, we met for lunch, and I bought some pretty awesome food.

 

My boyfriend has been doing the same job for quite a while now, but his contract was temporary so he had to apply for it again when a permanent vacancy cropped up. What a pain in the butt, right? Long story short, he got it.  Interestingly a girl I went to school with applied too, I only know this because she asked him for some advice. I’m not sure how I would feel if he was working alongside someone who knew me as a teenager. I’m in touch with all of the old school chums I want to be in touch with.

Lunch was a nice little deal at the local Korean restaurant Mannaza. I had pork bibimbap, a rice bowl with various veggies and of course the pork, with a raw egg on top that really makes it special. I don’t know what they call the sauce that comes with it, but I could just drink it. I’d recommend it as a place to visit for a light lunch if you’re in the toon.

Today’s coup de grâce was my awesome finds in The Granger Market. Lots of massive Portobello mushrooms for £1, 4 punnets of strawberries for £1 and some ham hocks. I made stock with the hocks and then soup with the stock and the ‘shrooms. I basically messed up a Jamie Oliver recipe but it was awesome. Here is my take:

Take all the mushrooms you have and chop them into thin slices, realise you have no onions, add a load of garlic to some warm olive oil in a frying pan. Throw the mushrooms in the pan, add some garlic salt because youre now worried about those darn onions. Gradually sprinkle in 4 tablespoons of flour. Cook that off. Then add as much stock as you have, or enough to make it as soupy as you want it. Blend it and then serve.

 

Not an exciting day, just a nice one.

Leave a Reply

